A Prayer

by localwomenglobalmission

This is taken for the book Child, Victim, Soldier. I had read it in the North as I was trying to learn more about the past atrocities and current effects of Kony and the LRA. I adapted it just slightly. Lila and I used to read it together in Atiak and now we continue to read it separately, Lila from Martha’s Vineyard and I from Mbale. We thought you might like to share your voices from your perspective parts of the world. 

 

To you, creator of nature and humanity, of truth and beauty, I pray

Hear my voice, for it is the voice of victims of all wars and violence among individuals and nations

Hear my voice, for it is the voice of all children who suffer and will suffer when people put their faith in weapons and war

Hear my voice, when I beg you to instill into the hearts of all human beings the wisdom of peace, the strength of justice and the joy of fellowship

Hear my voice, for I speak for the multitudes in every country who are ready to walk the road of peace

Hear my voice, and grant insight and strength so that we may always respond to hatred with love, to injustice with total dedication to justice, to need with sharing of self, to war with peace

Hear my voice, and assist us in creating a world of everlasting peace

 

